USC President Nikias to chair College Football Playoff Board of Managers

USC President Nikias to chair College Football Playoff Board of Managers

The governing panel oversees business affairs of the playoff organization, including budgets, policies and operating guidelines

January 11, 2016

Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff, announced that USC President C. L. Max Nikias has been named chairman of the College Football Playoff Board of Managers. He succeeds University of Nebraska-Lincoln Chancellor, Harvey Perlman, who will be retiring as chancellor of the university this summer.

“Dr. Nikias has been instrumental in the development and growth of the College Football Playoff,” Hancock announced in Irving, Texas.  “We appreciate his leadership and continued support. He is highly respected by his fellow presidents and chancellors and he will be an excellent chair.

“I also want to take this opportunity to thank Harvey Perlman for the time and energy he has devoted to the playoff. We have been fortunate to have been led by such talented people.”

Nikias will officially begin his term as chair Feb. 1.

The Board of Managers governs the College Football Playoff business, property and affairs. The board develops, reviews and approves annual budgets, policies and operating guidelines. It has authority over all aspects of the company’s operations.

The current members of the Board of Managers are:

  • Rodney Bennett, president, University of Southern Mississippi (Conference USA)
  • Anthony Frank, president, Colorado State University (Mountain West Conference)
  • Burns Hargis, president, Oklahoma State University (Big 12 Conference)
  • Jack Hawkins, chancellor, Troy University (Sun Belt Conference)
  • The Rev. John Jenkins, president, University of Notre Dame (independent)
  • Mark Keenum, president, Mississippi State University (Southeastern Conference)
  • Roderick McDavis, president, Ohio University (Middle Atlantic Conference)
  • C. L. Max Nikias (chair), president, USC (Pac-12 Conference)
  • Harvey Perlman, chancellor, University of Nebraska (Big Ten Conference)
  • John Thrasher, president, Florida State University (Atlantic Coast Conference)
  • Steadman Upham, president, University of Tulsa (American Athletic Conference)

About the College Football Playoff

The College Football Playoff matches the No. 1 seed vs. No. 4, and No. 2 vs. No. 3 in semifinal games that rotate annually among the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Goodyear Cotton Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual and Fiesta Bowl. The 2016 national championship game between Clemson and Alabama is today at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz.; the game airs at 5:30 p.m. (PT) on ESPN.